Mindfreedom Ireland 2013

1 Dec

In September I was asked to speak at the Mindfreedom Ireland 10th anniversary conference. Myself and the other half met some amazing people, all with their own stories to tell; mostly awful it has to be said, but there was lots of inspirational survivor stories too. Mary and Jim Maddock were great hosts; in Mary’s case, a fine example of how someone can survive years of forced medication and ECT (Electroconvulsive therapy). Cork was perfect as always; I’d quite happily while away a few hours listening to the lovely Cork accent. I couldn’t help myself and was speaking like a true Corkonian by the time I left. The spectacular Rock of Cashel in County Tipperary was also well worth a visit while stopping off for lunch on the trip home.

Anyway, the conference was recorded and here’s my tuppence worth. In my defence, blubbing like a baby is not really my thing BUT, I was supposed to speak after a coffee break, which didn’t happen due to time constraints. We were listening to Gordon Lucas who was brilliant but had everyone in floods of tears, when the coffee break was cancelled and I was unexpectedly called. That’s my excuse for being totally unprofessional and once again rambling like an amadán.

6 Responses to “Mindfreedom Ireland 2013”

  1. truthman30 December 1, 2013 at 11:57 pm #

    great talk Leonie :)

  2. shea December 2, 2013 at 12:58 am #

    Well said. Bravo. You’re a continuing inspiration :]

  3. BOB FIDDAMAN (@Fiddaman) December 3, 2013 at 1:44 am #

    Absolutely brilliant Leonie…and I understood every word too :-P

    Seriously though, I am very proud to have met you and to call you a friend.

  4. Leonie (For Shane) December 3, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    Thanks so much, blubbering my way through it was not exactly the plan but hey – ‘it is what it is’!
    The feeling is very mutual Mr Fiddaman.
    Leonie

    • brianodulaing December 7, 2013 at 12:09 am #

      Ana mhaith ar fad Leonie, inspioráideach!!

      • Leonie (For Shane) December 7, 2013 at 10:15 am #

        Go raibh míle maith agat brian as do focail deasa, Míle buíochas. xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,245 other followers